The Lowndes County Economic Development Commission (LCEDC) was formed by the Lowndes County Commission, seven municipalities, and local utilities and other businesses, to create a county-wide, consolidated organization for the specific purpose of Economic Development: The attraction of new business and industry, the retention and expansion of existing business and industry and the development of a trained workforce. Working together, The Lowndes County Economic Development Commission is working to sustain and grow Lowndes County.

For more information on the Commission, call 334-414-2560.


President – Thomas Ellis, Priester’s Pecans
Vice President – Carnell McAlpline, Chairman, Lowndes County Commission
Secretary – Cleve Poole, Pioneer Electric Cooperative, Inc.
Treasurer – John Lyon, BancorpSouth
Economic Developer – Jim Byard, Jr.